Sackville-Cobequid By-election

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Sackville-Cobequid By-election

The Sackville-Cobequid by-election, which was the result of the resignation of MLA Dave Wilson, has not yet been called but must be called by May 16th. The NDP have held the seat since 1984 with John Holm and Dave Wilson. The registered candidates so far:

Lara Fawthrop         Nova Scotia New Democratic Party (NDP)
Steve Craig           Progressive Conservative Association of Nova Scotia (PC)

The Nova Scotia NDP have selected Lara Fawthrop to run in the Sackville-Cobequid byelection.

The party held their nomination ceremony in Lower Sackville on Saturday. The seat opened up in November when NDP MLA Dave Wilson announced he was stepping down.

Fawthrop says her focus, if elected, will be on wait times in health care, specifically when it comes to mental health. “For me, to represent Sackville, it would mean accomplishment for all,” said Fawthrop, “because one of the things I value is working together as a team. So it’s actually not for me, it means something for us.” ...

Fawthrop says she saw Wilson’s resignation as an opportunity. “I thought for a minute, maybe this is my opportunity to expand the work that I did at Sackvile High School for that school community, and to expand that work to the larger community of Sackville,” she said.

Sackville-Cobequid has been a stronghold for the NDP, with Dave Wilson representing the riding since 2003. Prior to that, NDP MLA John Holm held the seat for over a decade.

Provincial NDP Leader Gary Burrill says it will be up to the residents of Sackville, but he’s hopeful his party will continue to represent the riding. “The constituency has been served here for the last 35 years with extraordinary diligence, with a real door-to-door service to the people,” Burrill said.





The Liberals candidate is Michel Hindlet.

Hindlet has two decades of experience in technical sales in the electronics industry, according to the party. He has also served numerous causes including the Sackville Rivers Association, the Friends of First Lake organization, and the Sackville Lakes Park. ...

The NDP announced in February that Lara Fawthrop will represent their party. The PCs will have regional councillor Steve Craig running for them.


kropotkin1951 kropotkin1951's picture

I'm glad I looked up the riding. When I hear Sackville I think of New Brunswick. So this is a exurban Halifax riding?


kropotkin1951 wrote:

I'm glad I looked up the riding. When I hear Sackville I think of New Brunswick. So this is a exurban Halifax riding?

Below a map of its location and a description of the riding's history.



The by election was announced today on the last possible day of a six month period. It probably suggests the Liberals don't have high expectations of winning. 

Nova Scotia Premier Stephen McNeil announced Wednesday the byelection to replace former MLA Dave Wilson will be held June 18. Elections Nova Scotia rules say the premier has six months from the time of a departure to call a byelection. Thursday was the last possible day for McNeil to make the call.

The seat has been vacant since Wilson retired in November.

Four parties have already nominated candidates for the race. Steve Craig is running for the Progressive Conservatives, Anthony Edmonds is running for the Green Party, Lara Fawthrop is representing the NDP and Michel Hindlet will carry the banner for the Liberals. ...

Craig is a Halifax Regional Municipality councillor, Edmonds is an aerospace engineer, Fawthrop is a music teacher and Hindlet is a salesperson. Edmonds and Hindlet both ran in the last provincial election.

While incumbency is not a guarantee in a Nova Scotia byelection — seats have flipped in nine of the last 20 byelections — Sackville-Cobequid has been a staunchly NDP district dating back to 1984, when John Holm was first elected.

Holm held the seat until 2003, the year he retired and Wilson was first elected.

Wilson retired after 15 years as a New Democrat MLA, which included a stint as health minister and House leader for his party. He's now the director of the provincial 911 system at the Nova Scotia Emergency Management Office.