rabble blogs are the personal pages of some of Canada's most insightful progressive activists and commentators. All opinions belong to the writer; however, writers are expected to adhere to our guidelines. We welcome new bloggers -- contact us for details.

Election 2011: Canada votes today!

Day 38 -- Election day -- When can I vote today? Local times -- Newfoundland: 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m.; Atlantic Time: 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m.; Eastern Time: 9:30 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.; Central Time: 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m.; Mountain Time: 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.; Pacific Time: 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

How do I find my polling station? The best way to find your polling station is to visit http://www.election.ca, scroll down a short way and enter your postal code in the voter information search box. Click the link 'Where do I vote?' to find your closest polling station. If you are registered to vote and have received a voter information card in the mail, the location of your polling station will be listed on your card.

How do I register to vote? If you are not registered to vote on election day you can still cast a ballot. While many Canadians are automatically registered, some are not. You can register by calling Elections Canada at 1-800-463-6868. Or go to your local polling station on election day with identification. That can include: One piece of government-issued photo identification listing your name and address, such as a drivers license; or Two pieces of authorized identification. Both pieces must have your name and one must also have your address, such as a heath card and hydro bill; or Take an oath and have an elector who knows you vouch for you. This person must have authorized identification and be from the same polling division as you, such as a neighbour.

More information: More information on voting can be found here, here, here, and here.

When will the results be available? The Vancouver Sun reports, "The staggered voting times across the country mean that when the polls close in B.C. (7 p.m. PT -- meaning across the country 8 p.m. MT, 9 p.m. CT, 10 p.m. ET, 11 p.m. AT, 11:30 p.m. Newfoundland), the majority of results should become available. But, while election laws prohibit the broadcasting of results before the close of those last polls, results may be available on social networking site Twitter as users have threatened to hold a tweet-in to protest the law."

Seats at dissolution:
Conservatives - 143
Liberals - 77
NDP - 36
Bloc - 47
*155 seats needed for a majority or coalition government.

For Council of Canadians updates, analysis and commentary on this election, go to http://www.canadians.org/election.

Brent Patterson, Political Director, Council of Canadians
www.canadians.org

Thank you for reading this story...

More people are reading rabble.ca than ever and unlike many news organizations, we have never put up a paywall – at rabble we’ve always believed in making our reporting and analysis free to all. But media isn’t free to produce. rabble’s total budget is likely less than what big corporate media spend on photocopying (we kid you not!) and we do not have any major foundation, sponsor or angel investor. Our only supporters are people and organizations -- like you. This is why we need your help.

If everyone who visits rabble and likes it chipped in a couple of dollars per month, our future would be much more secure and we could do much more: like the things our readers tell us they want to see more of: more staff reporters and more work to complete the upgrade of our website.

We’re asking if you could make a donation, right now, to set rabble on solid footing in 2017.

Make a donation.Become a monthly supporter.

Comments

We welcome your comments! rabble.ca embraces a pro-human rights, pro-feminist, anti-racist, queer-positive, anti-imperialist and pro-labour stance, and encourages discussions which develop progressive thought. Our full comment policy can be found here. Learn more about Disqus on rabble.ca and your privacy here. Please keep in mind:

Do

  • Tell the truth and avoid rumours.
  • Add context and background.
  • Report typos and logical fallacies.
  • Be respectful.
  • Respect copyright - link to articles.
  • Stay focused. Bring in-depth commentary to our discussion forum, babble.

Don't

  • Use oppressive/offensive language.
  • Libel or defame.
  • Bully or troll.
  • Post spam.
  • Engage trolls. Flag suspect activity instead.