Book Reviews on rabble.ca

Feb 26 2015 | By Steffanie Pinch | How do we take back and transform the narrative from the mainstream? Well, knitting, patching, felting and sewing are a good start.
Feb 19 2015 | By Karl Nerenberg | Karl Nerenberg has been rabble's parliamentary reporter since 2011, when the Harper government won its majority. Karl’s got a new book, full of keen observations about the Harper years.
Feb 12 2015 | By Yutaka Dirks | Acts of sex. Acts of violence. Raw physicality. Shawn Syms' 'Nothing Looks Familiar' explores bodies and sexuality of today's flawed beings.
Feb 5 2015 | By Kelly Rose Pflug-Back | The Canadian government's treatment of Indigenous people both historically and presently makes one thing clear: It only wants a relationship of taking land and resources.
Jan 29 2015 | By Azeezah Kanji | Women's political resistance and detention has been going on since, well colonialism, imperialism and the capitalist state. 'Captive Revolution' focuses on the participation of Palestinian women.
Jan 22 2015 | By Jessie Housty | Imagine Canada's future. What does it look like? In this excerpt, we read what Jessie Housty, an Indigenous community leader from the Heiltsuk First Nation, envisions for Canada.
Jan 15 2015 | By Paul Weinberg | What?! There's another reason to worry about the planet? Why yes. If we don't get control over our water usage, we will be up the creek without any water.
Jan 8 2015 | By Amira Elghawaby | By 2030, Canada's growth will be entirely based on immigration. So it seems it is in everyone's best interest to welcome newcomers, but you wouldn't gather that by the current laws and changes.
Photo: flickr/Ginny
Dec 18 2014 | By Kaitlin McNabb | Book reviews! Get your book reviews here! We reviewed numerous books in the book lounge this year and here are a few of the standouts.
Dec 11 2014 | By Amira Elghawaby | Harperism has been sweeping Canada! You know that blend of neoliberal politics, mixed with swift denial and blatant lies. How did we get here, and more importantly, will we ever get out?