Book Reviews on rabble.ca

Feb 4 2016 | By Jessica Rose | Step into the family history of Canadian music trio Kate, Anna and Jane McGarrigle and explore quirky family characters and the ever-present influence of music.
Jan 28 2016 | By Gus Van Harten | Canada's FIPA trade deal is lopsided in favour of China and foreign investors. Author Gus Van Harten debunks proponents of the deal and suggests ways the new government can limit FIPA's damage.
Jan 21 2016 | By Clarissa Fortin | Tracey Lindberg's debut novel Birdie draws inspiration from the Cree author's personal life and addresses the complexities of mental illness, abuse and non-linear narratives. Read this author Q&A!
Jan 14 2016 | By Azeezah Kanji | What does it mean to be Muslim and what does it mean to be Canadian? This new collection addresses this compex question with 11 thought-provoking essays.
Jan 7 2016 | By Daniel Tseghay | Are our interactions with people influenced by the inner workings of our mind? Are we biologically predisposed to discrimination? Daniel Tseghay disagrees with the new book Deep Diversity. Big time.
Photo: flickr/ quattrostagioni
Dec 23 2015 | By Kaitlin McNabb | The book lounge has outdone itself again this year! So without further ado here are some of the best reviews of the year. (I mean, they're all great aren't they?)
Dec 17 2015 | By Christine Smith (McFarlane) | Author Charlie Angus' detailed account of the deliberate denial of human rights to First Nations communities and Shannen Koostachin's fight for the right to education is stunning and a must read.
Dec 10 2015 | By Roshini Nair | Does economics=capitalism? No, it does not says Jim Stanford. Here's why we need to consider other ways of organizing our economy (written in an accessible, friendly voice!).
Dec 3 2015 | By Justin Podur | Tamara Pearson's new book weaves together the stories of two disenfranchised people in this thought-provoking work. Read our spoiler-filled review (and then go grab yourself a copy!).
Nov 26 2015 | By Sarah Hipworth | As hope for more humanitarian immigration and refugee policies in Canada grows, we need to look back on our history of helping refugees and how far we still have to go.