Book Reviews on

Oct 8 2015 | By Meg Borthwick | Canada has an international reputation for justice and environmental protection. But do we really deserve it, especially after nine years under the Harper government? Nope!
Oct 1 2015 | By Daniel Tseghay | Yves Engler's new book "Canada in Africa" exposes the Canadian government's complicity, and exploitation of, Canadian mines in Africa.
Sep 24 2015 | By Lauren Scott | Dene author Richard Van Camp's latest short story collection "Night Moves" finds us back in Fort Simmer with some friendly faces, but wholly new and haunting experiences.
Sep 17 2015 | By Sarah Hipworth | This double review of "Infinite Citizen of the Shaking Tent" and "A New Index for Predicting Catastrophes" explores world metaphors and how they can condition our thoughts and shape our actions.
Sep 10 2015 | By Aaron Leonard | Spoiler alert: capitalism is terrible. In her new book, Stephanie McMillan explains why this economic system is irredeemable and how we can finally crush it.
Sep 3 2015 | By Roshini Nair | Author-activist Helen Forsey shares her vision for a better-functioning Senate from her book "A People's Senate for Canada" and reviews the candidates' ideas for Senate reform in this interview.
Aug 27 2015 | By Kaitlin McNabb | Does urban cycling strike a chord of fear in you? Fear not, Yvonne Bambrick's Urban Cycling Survival Guide will show you the rules of the road and how to put them to good use.
Aug 20 2015 | By Christine Smith (McFarlane) | The Harper government has been in power since 2006. In that time, it has managed to systematically dismantle Canada's democracy. How? Read on.
Aug 13 2015 | By Azeezah Kanji | Critical scholarship on human rights raises serious questions about the ability of human rights to achieve or promote justice. Authors Nicola Perugini and Neve Gordon explore these questions.
Aug 6 2015 | By Michael Stewart | The corporatization of Canadian universities is a startling reality. Academia Inc. reveals the astonishing scale and scope corporate influence has on our universities.