Book Reviews on rabble.ca

Jan 22 2015 | By Jessie Housty | Imagine Canada's future. What does it look like? In this excerpt, we read what Jessie Housty, an Indigenous community leader from the Heiltsuk First Nation, envisions for Canada.
Jan 15 2015 | By Paul Weinberg | What?! There's another reason to worry about the planet? Why yes. If we don't get control over our water usage, we will be up the creek without any water.
Jan 8 2015 | By Amira Elghawaby | By 2030, Canada's growth will be entirely based on immigration. So it seems it is in everyone's best interest to welcome newcomers, but you wouldn't gather that by the current laws and changes.
Photo: flickr/Ginny
Dec 18 2014 | By Kaitlin McNabb | Book reviews! Get your book reviews here! We reviewed numerous books in the book lounge this year and here are a few of the standouts.
Dec 11 2014 | By Amira Elghawaby | Harperism has been sweeping Canada! You know that blend of neoliberal politics, mixed with swift denial and blatant lies. How did we get here, and more importantly, will we ever get out?
Dec 4 2014 | By Daniel Tseghay | Kinder Morgan. Enbridge. Keystone. TransCanada. These companies and Big Business threaten our planet. What will you do about it?
Nov 27 2014 | By Emma Morgan-Thorp | Are Canadian writers defined by their Canadianness? What is the genre of CanLit even defined as any more? Who should you read? Eliza Robertson answers all these questions and more!
Nov 20 2014 | By Michelle Reid | Access to abortion is a right in Canada. While we do have an active anti-abortion minority in Canada, pro-choice people are also guilty of silencing women's choices at times. Why?
Nov 13 2014 | By Tiana Reid | Dionne Brand's new novel 'Love Enough' does not disappoint. The constantly moving city is the backdrop to the characters that swirl all around in various incantations of love. What can love endure?
Nov 6 2014 | By Justin Podur | What happens when a detective novel moves beyond the regular narrative of police and criminal and the law, and looks at the political context? You get 'The Demands of the Dead'.