Book Reviews on rabble.ca

Jul 30 2015 | By Lauren Spring | Do we need to rethink the practices of modern-day psychiatry? Dr. Bonnie Burstow says yes. Find out why.
Jul 23 2015 | By Yutaka Dirks | Why do people migrate and what is it like when they do? This question frames 'Meet Me In Venice' by Suzanne Ma as we follow the journey of a young girl from Qingtian, China.
Jul 16 2015 | By Christine Smith (McFarlane) | At 86, Joseph (Augie) Merasty decided his story needed to be told: a firsthand account of the impact residential schools had on Indigenous children and how this experience shaped his life.
Jul 9 2015 | By Al Engler | Heat waves. Droughts. Wildfires. Storms. Weather events like these are becoming more frequent. Why? It may have something to do with the CO2 crisis.
Jul 2 2015 | By Jeff Miller | Montreal publisher Drawn & Quarterly is now widely regarded as the best publisher of literary comics in the world. Let's take a look back on how they got there and what has made them so, so great.
Jun 25 2015 | By Bill Bogart | In our health-obsessed culture, skinny=healthy and fat=sick. But, what if this is not the case? Read this excellent review on health, harm reduction and body and size diversity.
Jun 18 2015 | By Yutaka Dirks | Sarah Gerard's 'Binary Star' casts a necessary, burning light. "A razor-sharp depiction of addiction and an unflinching look at our misogynist culture," says Yutaka Dirks; this book is a must-read.
Jun 11 2015 | By Daniel Francis | Is Toronto the centre of Canada? Does its transformation echo that of Canada's? Hmm, guess it depends on what city you're from! Read Vancouverite Daniel Francis' incisive review.
Jun 4 2015 | By Tiana Reid | Amber Dawn's first book of poems 'Where the Words End and My Body Begins' is infused with literary technique, emotional logic and luxurious desire.
May 28 2015 | By Joy Woolfrey | What led to the Nova Scotia NDP's fall from power in 2013? In this revealing text, Howard Epstein suggests the path to defeat was set well before the party's 2009 victory.