Book Reviews on rabble.ca

Aug 13 2015 | By Azeezah Kanji | Critical scholarship on human rights raises serious questions about the ability of human rights to achieve or promote justice. Authors Nicola Perugini and Neve Gordon explore these questions.
Aug 6 2015 | By Michael Stewart | The corporatization of Canadian universities is a startling reality. Academia Inc. reveals the astonishing scale and scope corporate influence has on our universities.
Jul 30 2015 | By Dr. Bonnie Burstow |, | By Lauren Spring | Do we need to rethink the practices of modern-day psychiatry? Dr. Bonnie Burstow says yes. Find out why.
Jul 23 2015 | By Yutaka Dirks | Why do people migrate and what is it like when they do? This question frames 'Meet Me In Venice' by Suzanne Ma as we follow the journey of a young girl from Qingtian, China.
Jul 16 2015 | By Christine Smith (McFarlane) | At 86, Joseph (Augie) Merasty decided his story needed to be told: a firsthand account of the impact residential schools had on Indigenous children and how this experience shaped his life.
Jul 9 2015 | By Al Engler | Heat waves. Droughts. Wildfires. Storms. Weather events like these are becoming more frequent. Why? It may have something to do with the CO2 crisis.
Jul 2 2015 | By Jeff Miller | Montreal publisher Drawn & Quarterly is now widely regarded as the best publisher of literary comics in the world. Let's take a look back on how they got there and what has made them so, so great.
Jun 25 2015 | By Bill Bogart | In our health-obsessed culture, skinny=healthy and fat=sick. But, what if this is not the case? Read this excellent review on health, harm reduction and body and size diversity.
Jun 18 2015 | By Yutaka Dirks | Sarah Gerard's 'Binary Star' casts a necessary, burning light. "A razor-sharp depiction of addiction and an unflinching look at our misogynist culture," says Yutaka Dirks; this book is a must-read.
Jun 11 2015 | By Daniel Francis | Is Toronto the centre of Canada? Does its transformation echo that of Canada's? Hmm, guess it depends on what city you're from! Read Vancouverite Daniel Francis' incisive review.