OFL Convention

1 post / 0 new
OFL Convention

Fiery public union leader Sid Ryan has won a second-two year term as president of the Ontario Federation of Labour with a mandate to end internal strife and increase worker militancy on Tuesday.

More than 1,400 delegates at the federation's biennial convention acclaimed Ryan and supported his "unity team" that captured the other two top posts in the umbrella labour group that represents 54 unions and more than one million workers in the province.

Delegates also acclaimed Nancy Hutchison of the United Steelworkers for the secretary-treasurer's job and voted overwhelmingly for Irwin Nanda of the Canadian Union of Postal Workers as executive vice-president.

They replaced Marie Kelly of the Steelworkers and Terry Downey of the Ontario Public Service Employees Union who resigned on the eve of the convention.

Kelly and Downey had been feuding with Ryan for almost two years which adversely affected the federation's work.

That prompted Ryan to form his own team in efforts to end the infighting.

Disagreements with the federation caused three unions to boycott the five day convention but Ryan said he will work to win them back.

[url=http://www.thestar.com/news/article/1090818--sid-ryan-wins-second-term-a... Star[/url]