rabble blogs are the personal pages of some of Canada's most insightful progressive activists and commentators. All opinions belong to the writer; however, writers are expected to adhere to our guidelines. We welcome new bloggers -- contact us for details.

Election 2011: Debate absenteeism

Please chip in to support more articles like this. Support rabble.ca today for as little as $1 per month!

The current election campaign has seen an unprecedented number of candidates -- primarily Conservatives -- opting out of all-candidate forums, town hall events, and scheduled debates.

If a candidate cannot be bothered to address constituents during the campaign, they do not deserve your vote, period.

I've compiled a list of those who have, thus far, refused to partake in such unscripted events. If your local candidate should be on this list, please leave their name, party and riding in the comments section.



-  Deepak Obhrai (CPC) - Calgary East

-  Rob Anders (CPC) -Calgary West

-  Michelle Rempel (CPC) - Calgary Centre-North

-  Jason Kenney (CPC) - Calgary South East

-  Blake Richards (CPC) - Wild Rose

-  Stephen Harper (CPC) - Calgary South West

-  Devinder Shory (CPC) - Calgary North East

-  Dianne Ablonczy (CPC) - Calgary Nose Hill

-  Jim Hillyer (CPC) -Lethbridge

-  Peter Goldring (CPC) - Edmonton East

-  Laurie Hawn (CPC) - Edmonton Centre

-  LaVar Payne (CPC) - Medicine Hat



-  John Baird (CPC) - Ottawa West - Nepean

-  Rem Westland (CPC) - Ottawa-Vanier

-  Julian Fantino (CPC) - Vaughan

-  Peter Kent (CPC) - Thornhill

-  Gord Brown (CPC) - Leeds-Grenville

-  Aijaz Naqvi (NDP) - Mississauga-Streetsville

-  Terence Young (CPC) - Oakville 

-  Gary Schellenberger (CPC) Perth-Wellington

-  Susan Truppe (CPC) - London-North Centre

-  Stephen Woodworth (CPC) - Kitchener Centre 

-  Diane Finley (CPC) - Haldimand—Norfolk

-  Royal Galipeau (CPC) - Ottawa-Orléans

-  Theresa Rodrigues (CPC) - Davenport

-  Jillian Saweczko (CPC) - York South Weston

-  Leanna Villella (CPC) - Welland

-  Kevin Moore (CPC) - Toronto Centre

-  Katarina von Koenig (CPC) -  Toronto-Danforth

-  Elie Salibi (CPC) - Ottawa South

-  Pierre Lemieux (CPC) - Glengarry-Prescott-Russell

-  Terry Anderson (CPC) - Hamilton Mountain

-  Marty Burke (CPC) - Guelph

-  James McLaren (NDP) - Ottawa South

-  Ed Holder (CPC) - London West

-  Jay Aspin (CPC) - Nipissing-Temiskaming

-  Patrick Brown (CPC) - Barrie

-  Peter Braid (CPC) - Kitchener - Waterloo

-  Chris Alexander (CPC) - Ajax-Pickering

-  Leslie Parsons (NDP) - Dufferin-Caledon

-  Larry Miller (CPC) -  Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound

-  Corneliu Chisu (CPC) - Pickering-Scarborough East

-  Fred Slade (CPC) - Sudbury

-  Damian Konstantinakos (CPC) - Ottawa Centre

-  Phil McColeman (CPC) - Brant

-  Nicole Yovanoff (NDP) - Don Valley West

-  Dave Van Kesteren (CPC) - Chatham-Kent-Essex



-  Wally Daudrich (CPC) - Churchill

-  Rod Bruinooge (CPC) - Winnipeg South

-  Bev Pitura (CPC) - Winnipeg Centre

-  Joyce Bateman (CPC) - Winnipeg South Centre


New Brunswick 

-  Rodney Weston (CPC) - Saint John

-  Robert Goguen (CPC) - Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe


British Columbia

-  Donald Leung (CPC) - Burnaby-Douglas

-  Dona Cadman (CPC) - Surrey North

-  Mark Strahl (CPC) - Chilliwack - Fraser Canyon 

-  John Koury (CPC) - Nanaimo-Cowichan

-  Stephen Hill (CPC) - Southern Interior

-  David Wilks (CPC) -  Kootenay-Columbia

-  John Duncan (CPC) - Vancouver Island North

-  Jennifer Clarke (CPC) - Vancouver Centre

-  Ronald Leung (CPC) - Burnaby-Douglas

-  Sangeeta Lalli (LPC) - Prince George

-  Liz Walker (GREEN) - Newton-North Delta

-  Nina Grewal (CPC) - Fleetwood-Port Kells


Nova Scotia

-  Gerald Keddy (CPC) - South Shore-St. Margaret's



-  Randy Hoback (CPC) - Prince Albert

-  Kelly Block (CPC) -  Saskatoon-Rosetown-Biggar


Northwest Territories

-  Sandy Lee (CPC) - Western Arctic



-  Daniel Petit (CPC) - Charlesbourg-Haute-Saint-Charles

-  Sylvie Boucher (CPC) - Beauport-Limoilou

-  Guy Jonas (CPC) - Laurentides-Labelle

-  Claude Pilote (Bloc) - Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean

-  Roger Pomerleau (Bloc) - Drummond

-  Richard Côté (Bloc) - Portneuf-Jacques-Cartier

-  Nicolas Dufour (Bloc) - Repentigny



It seems the accountability flu is spreading to the NDP  - Including Jack Jayton


Thank you for reading this story…

More people are reading rabble.ca than ever and unlike many news organizations, we have never put up a paywall – at rabble we’ve always believed in making our reporting and analysis free to all, while striving to make it sustainable as well. Media isn’t free to produce. rabble’s total budget is likely less than what big corporate media spend on photocopying (we kid you not!) and we do not have any major foundation, sponsor or angel investor. Our main supporters are people and organizations -- like you. This is why we need your help. You are what keep us sustainable.

rabble.ca has staked its existence on you. We live or die on community support -- your support! We get hundreds of thousands of visitors and we believe in them. We believe in you. We believe people will put in what they can for the greater good. We call that sustainable.

So what is the easy answer for us? Depend on a community of visitors who care passionately about media that amplifies the voices of people struggling for change and justice. It really is that simple. When the people who visit rabble care enough to contribute a bit then it works for everyone.

And so we’re asking you if you could make a donation, right now, to help us carry forward on our mission. Make a donation today.


We welcome your comments! rabble.ca embraces a pro-human rights, pro-feminist, anti-racist, queer-positive, anti-imperialist and pro-labour stance, and encourages discussions which develop progressive thought. Our full comment policy can be found here. Learn more about Disqus on rabble.ca and your privacy here. Please keep in mind:


  • Tell the truth and avoid rumours.
  • Add context and background.
  • Report typos and logical fallacies.
  • Be respectful.
  • Respect copyright - link to articles.
  • Stay focused. Bring in-depth commentary to our discussion forum, babble.


  • Use oppressive/offensive language.
  • Libel or defame.
  • Bully or troll.
  • Post spam.
  • Engage trolls. Flag suspect activity instead.