Book Reviews on rabble.ca

Photo: flickr/Ginny
Dec 18 2014 | By Kaitlin McNabb | Book reviews! Get your book reviews here! We reviewed numerous books in the book lounge this year and here are a few of the standouts.
Dec 11 2014 | By Amira Elghawaby | Harperism has been sweeping Canada! You know that blend of neoliberal politics, mixed with swift denial and blatant lies. How did we get here, and more importantly, will we ever get out?
Dec 4 2014 | By Daniel Tseghay | Kinder Morgan. Enbridge. Keystone. TransCanada. These companies and Big Business threaten our planet. What will you do about it?
Nov 27 2014 | By Emma Morgan-Thorp | Are Canadian writers defined by their Canadianness? What is the genre of CanLit even defined as any more? Who should you read? Eliza Robertson answers all these questions and more!
Nov 20 2014 | By Michelle Reid | Access to abortion is a right in Canada. While we do have an active anti-abortion minority in Canada, pro-choice people are also guilty of silencing women's choices at times. Why?
Nov 13 2014 | By Tiana Reid | Dionne Brand's new novel 'Love Enough' does not disappoint. The constantly moving city is the backdrop to the characters that swirl all around in various incantations of love. What can love endure?
Nov 6 2014 | By Justin Podur | What happens when a detective novel moves beyond the regular narrative of police and criminal and the law, and looks at the political context? You get 'The Demands of the Dead'.
Oct 30 2014 | By Nathaniel G. Moore | Canadian poetry and activism mix? You bet! 'From the Poplars' puts a spotlight on B.C. history and the Qayqayt First Nation in this call to arms for environmental consciousness.
Oct 23 2014 | By Geoff Martin | The production and consumption of news is a fundamental liberal democracy. So what happens when one of Canada's richest families owns all the papers in New Brunswick?
Oct 16 2014 | By Aparna Sanyal | Is Nelly's madness a product of herself or of the absolutes in a world she is forced to inhabit? In this newly translated novel, readers ponder to whom Nelly's suicide note is really addressed.