Photo: Wayne MacPhail was built on the efforts of progressive journalists, writers, artists and activists across the country and has a unique role of reporting on stories from civil society while providing a counterbalance to corporate-owned media. We now get 450,000 visitors monthly, and we are growing. features some of the best new and emerging progressive voices in Canada. You can read, hear and watch them in our original news, opinion, blogs, book, podcast and video sections and on our moderated discussion board. is a registered not-for-profit organization. We rely on the support of individual and organization donors and our sustaining partners. If you would like to support independent journalism you can here.

Our staff and our volunteers make run. Meet them, here, in our bio section.



  • Kim Elliott


  • Judy Rebick

President Emeritus

  • Duncan Cameron


  • Brian Sharpe - Technology Coordinator
  • Christina Turner - Assistant Editor Weekend and Books
  • Frank Preyde - Moderator
  • Jessica Rose - Best of rabble
  • Karl Nerenberg - Parliamentary Reporter
  • Matthew DiMera - Acting Editor
  • Maya Bhullar - Activist Toolkit Coordinator
  • Meg Borthwick- babble Moderator
  • Michelle Gregus - Managing Editor
  • Olivia Robinson - Jack Layton Journalism for Change Fellow
  • Shirley Marquez - Membership Coordinator
  • Sophia Reuss - Assistant Editor
  • Tania Ehret - Operations Coordinator
  • Victoria Fenner- Executive Producer of the RPN
  • Zaid Noorsumar - Labour Beat Intern
  • Consensus Enterprises  - Tech Support

Members' Council Executive Members

  • Matthew Adams (President)
  • Bob Gallagher, USW (Vice President)
  • Robert Lamoureux, CUPE
  • Nicole Johnson (Treasurer)
  • Phillip Dwight Morgan

Members'  Council

  • Alexandra Samur
  • Amira Elghawaby
  • Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
  • Domenic Bellissimo, OSSTF
  • Elizabeth Ballermann, NUPGE
  • Fred Wilson, Council of Canadians
  • Federico Carvajal, ETFO
  • HEU
  • Jerry Toews, HSAA
  • Kathleen Monk
  • Linda Silas, CFNU
  • Natalie Clancy, UNIFOR
  • Riccardo Fillippone, PSAC
  • Shannon Devine
  • Sylvain Beaudry, CUPW
  • Sophia Reuss, rabble staff
  • Tania Ehret, rabble staff
  • Trina James, The Canadian Federation of Students
  • Tria Donaldson
  • Trish Hennessy
  • Wayne MacPhail